Professional Programs after Plus 2 in Commerce Stream

Professional Programs after Plus 2 in Commerce Stream

Chartered Accountancy Program

With the rapid growth in economy, careers in finance and accounts have gained tremendous popularity and the most prestigious career option in this filed is that of Chartered Accountant. The CA Program is made up of a Graduate Diploma of Chartered Accounting (GradDipCA) and Mentored Practical Experience - it combines formal study and practical experience to develop technical and professional skills.

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (ICAI) is both an examining and a licensing body. It is the responsibility of the institute to conduct the Chartered accountancy (CA) Course. The course involves a blend of theoretical education and practical training which run concurrently for a period of three years and equips a student with knowledge, ability, skills and other qualities required of a professional accountant.

The CA Program consists of five modules, in conjunction with three years of mentored practical experience

  • Taxation
  • Audit and Assurance
  • Financial Accounting and Reporting
  • Management accounting and applied finance
  • Capstone
  • Mentored Practical Experience

Institute of Cost & Works Accountants of India Program

If you are interested to become a Cost Management Accountant, then ICWA will be one of the best course for you as per your interest. The Institute of Cost Accountants of India (ICAI) formerly known as ICWAI (Institute of Cost & Works Accountants of India) is a premier institution of India which offers education and develops the profession of Cost Accountancy in the country.

At present ICWA course has been renamed to CMA which stands for Cost Management Accounting. This course provides you an in-depth knowledge to manage business within the available resources. As a cost accountant, you have to collect and analyze the financial information from all the areas of a company.

The course is conducted in 3 stages. ICWA Foundation is of minimum 8 months duration. ICWA Intermediate has minimum 10 months and ICWA Final is of 18 months duration. To apply for this course, students must have passed 10th or equivalent from any recognized institution or board. Candidates who have passed or appearing in 12th are also eligible to apply.

Company Secretary Program

A company secretary is a senior position in a private sector company or public sector organization. As CS can be Classified as three Categories for Certification on CS Foundation, CS Executive, and CS Professional Programme. To Chose the profession in Company Secretary you should complete these 3 stages. There will be regular examinations which are conducted by the Specified institutes all over India. Then you can be awarded the certification in CS Course.

Foundation Program can be pursued by 10+2 pass or equivalent students of Arts, Science or Commerce stream (Excluding Fine Arts.) Executive Program can be pursued by a Graduate of all streams except Fine Arts. Professional Program can be pursued only after clearing the Executive Program of CS Course.

Chartered Financial Analyst Program

The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation is regarded by most to be the key certification for investment professionals, especially in the areas of research and portfolio management.

The CFA designation is given to investment professionals who have successfully completed the requirements set by the globally recognized CFA Institute (formerly the Association for Investment Management and Research, or AIMR). To be eligible for the CFA designation, candidates must meet the following criteria:-

  • Pass three rigorous, six-hour exams over several years.
  • Have 48 months of "acceptable professional work experience." Although the CFA institute allows a fairly broad interpretation here, the experience usually has to be financial in nature.
  • Join the CFA institute by committing to the CFA Institute's Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.